Turning Tool Techniques

I’m new to turning and have now managed to crank out plates, a candlestick, a bowl and a pen. To get to this point I’ve taken a couple of learning sessions and watched plenty of YouTube videos. When I think about what occupies my mind when I’m turning, it’s the question of which tool is appropriate and how best to use it.

Does anyone know of a succinct resource to answer these questions?

1 Like

Travis,
I don’t know a trusted source. I do watch those considered the top of their field and what tool they use for various tasks. I’ve ended up with a fair collection of tools as a result. I found lathe turning to be quite addictive. Just wait till you get into segmented turning… And then there is the … I need a bigger swing… so a larger lathe starts calling to you… space though will limit you. Be safe, pieces do fly off at times.

Space is already a limit I struggle with! :slight_smile:
Do you have any YouTube channels to recommend?
The ABC (anchor, bevel, cut) of turning was a fantastic insight.

Just starting myself. Will watch what advice people give you that i may learn from myself. I know of a YouTube channel called “worththeeffort” that focuses on teaching the basics and techniques. Challenge is that he takes the teaching stuff very serious and assumes people know nothing - so - his teaching sessions take a long time. With that said he is thorough. I usually put him on 1.25 speed and get through as much of the videos as I can. Looking forward to what you learn and post.

@robsandstrom56

I joined the SDWT but you can watch their monthly Zoom events as a member of SDFWA. The quality of their presenters is quite good. Also, I joined the AAW largely because their symposium impressed me so much and they have world class speakers. As an AAW member you can access their video archive which is rich.